Vinland Saga Watch Order

Vinland Saga is a bloody tale of revenge, in 11th century England, the brutal age of Vikings.

Vinland Saga surprisingly has a brilliant adaptation in spite of being a seinen historical epic, a genre cursed for having an anime adaptation reminiscent of titles like Berserk and Kingdom.

You can see the passion and care Yabuta Shuuhei, and the staff has for this adaptation. From the gorgeous background art to an incredible direction, WIT Studio, and later by MAPPA, deserves every bit of appreciation.

1. Vinland Saga (2019)

Vinland Saga (2019) wit studio anime
AiredSummer 2019

Thorfinn is son to one of the Vikings’ greatest warriors, but when his father is killed in battle by the mercenary leader Askeladd, he swears to have his revenge. Thorfinn joins Askeladd’s band in order to challenge him to a duel, and ends up caught in the middle of a war for the crown of England.

2. Vinland Saga Season 2 (2023)

Vinland Saga Season 2 (2023) mappa
AiredWinter 2023

The second season of Vinland Saga.

After his father’s death and the destruction of his village at the hands of English raiders, Einar wishes for a peaceful life with his family on their newly rebuilt farms. However, fate has other plans: his village is invaded once again. Einar watches helplessly as the marauding Danes burn his lands and slaughter his family. The invaders capture Einar and take him back to Denmark as a slave.

Einar clings to his mother’s final words to survive. He is purchased by Ketil, a kind slave owner and landlord who promises that Einar can regain his freedom in return for working in the fields. Soon, Einar encounters his new partner in farm cultivation—Thorfinn, a dejected and melancholic slave. As Einar and Thorfinn work together toward their freedom, they are haunted by both sins of the past and the ploys of the present. Yet they carry on, grasping for a glimmer of hope, redemption, and peace in a world that is nothing but unjust and unforgiving.

Leave a Reply