Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE Watch Order

Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle is a series by the manga artist group Clamp. It takes place in the same fictional universe as many of Clamp’s other manga series, most notably xxxHolic.

Tsubasa was conceived when four Clamp artists wanted to create a manga series that connected all their previous works. They took the designs for the main protagonists from their earlier manga called Cardcaptor Sakura.

The plot follows how Sakura, the princess of the Kingdom of Clow, loses all her memories and how Syaoran, a young archaeologist who is her childhood friend, goes on arduous adventures to save her, with two other companions: Kurogane and Fai D. Flowright.

1. Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE (2005)

Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE (2005)
AiredSpring 2005

During an excavation at the mysterious ruins in Clow Country, Syaoran discovers his childhood friend Princess Sakura appear on the site with wings that disperse into many feathers.

As the feather’s disappear to different dimensions, so does Sakura’s memory. In attempts to save Sakura’s life and restore her memory, Syaoran travels through to another world to find a solution.

There’s only one thing left he can do. Travel through to different dimensions to collect Sakura’s feathers.

Helping out with the quest is Kurogane, an exiled ninja from Japan Country who wishes to return to his world, the runaway magician, Fay, who desires to jump between each world never to return to his own and the white meat-bun shaped creature, Mokona.

2. Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle the Movie: The Princess in the Birdcage Kingdom (2005)

Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle the Movie: The Princess in the Birdcage Kingdom (2005)
AiredSummer 2005

In their continuing journey to find the feathers that are the fragments of Sakura’s lost memory, Syaoran, Kurogane, Fai, and Sakura move through time and space with Mokona.

Here, they visit the “Land of the Birdcage,” a seemingly peaceful country where people and birds live together, each person having a bird companion.

After a boy named Koruri confuses Syaoran and Sakura for “bodyguards” and attacks them, they learn that the king of the country possesses a mysterious power.

Princess Tomoyo, Koruri, and the other oppressed citizens, having had their birds taken from them, live in hiding within the forest.

In order to take back Sakura’s feather, Syaoran and the others stand up against the scheming king.

3. Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE 2nd Season (2006)

Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE 2nd Season (2006)
AiredSpring 2006

Takes place immediately after the first season. Based on the manga by CLAMP.

Syaoran, Sakura, Kurogane, Fai and Mokona’s journey through to different world’s continue as they search for Sakura’s feathers.

The fated journey slowly becomes more complicated for our travelers, as they find themselves diving deeper into more dangerous worlds.

4. Tsubasa: Tokyo Revelations (2007)

AiredFall 2007

Continuing their journey from Record Country (the place that held the book of memories), Syaoran and company land into Tokyo Country, a blood-filled country under war from opposing factions for natural resources and survival.

While reluctantly involved in the race to live, the group faces their own problems as certain revelations are made, changing their journey forever.

A shocking betrayal and a battle that risks all of their lives. After this revelation, they will never be the same again.

5. Tsubasa: Spring Thunder Chronicles (2009)

Tsubasa: Spring Thunder Chronicles (2009)
AiredSpring 2009

Tsubasa/xxxHOLiC Project

A 4 part OVA released with the limited editions of the Tsubasa and xxxHOLiC volumes.
There are two OVAs for each series, with plots linked together.

They cover the Nihon Country Arc and scarcely some of the Celes Country Arc.

Leave a Reply