Higurashi Anime Watch Order

Don’t get caught up in the cute moe look. Like Madoka Magica, Higurashi begins on an optimistic note, but quickly reveals its darker nature as it progresses.

The story deals with death, despair, mass paranoia, and violent murder only to reset time and experience it again until all the clues are put together to piece together the truth.

Higurashi was originally a visual novel with a plot in a time loop and exploring every choice a character could make along with the results.

Higurashi is a supernatural horror mystery. This dark anime series behind the cute exterior is a master of storytelling, extremely well written and perfectly executed.

1. Higurashi: When They Cry (2006)

Higurashi: When They Cry (2006)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni
AiredSpring 2006

After moving into the quiet town of Hinamizawa, Maebara Keiichi spends his days blissfully in school often playing games with his local friends. However, appearances can be deceiving.

One fateful day, Keiichi stumbles upon news of a murder that had occurred in Hinamizawa. From this point on, horrific events unfold in front of Keiichi, as he soon learns his close friends may not be all that they seem.

Based on the amateur mystery game by 07th Expansion, the story is told in a series of different scenarios.

2. Higurashi: When They Cry Kai (2007)

Higurashi: When They Cry Kai (2007)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai
AiredSummer 2007

Continuing from the first series, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai begins to shed some light on the dark mysteries prevalent in the preceding season.

The young group of friends in the town of Hinamizawa continue to enter terrible conflicts with one another in their never ending summer of 1983, often ending with the brutal murder of one of their numbers.

Furude Rika, with the help of her spiritual friend Hanyuu, tackles challenges over and over, trying her best to keep their lives from coming to a tragic end.

With no end to the torture in sight, Rika must call upon the bonds of friendship and trust among her friends to discover the true villain of this eternal June.

3. Higurashi: When They Cry Rei (2009)

Higurashi: When They Cry Rei (2009)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei
AiredWinter 2009

The endless cycle of murders has been broken and Rika is finally able to settle down for a normal life with her friends. However, she is involved in a traffic accident and wakes up in a world where everything is different.

A world where no one commited the sins that shaped them into the persons they are. It’s up to Rika to discover the truth behind this world and whether or not it truly is perfect.

4. Higurashi: When They Cry Kira (2011)

Higurashi: When They Cry Kira (2011)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira
AiredSummer 2011

With things such as story out of the way, Higurashi cranks up the fanservice with Kira, a new OVA series to commemorate the series’ 10th anniversary.

Featuring nail-biting situations such as Rika and Satoko becoming magical girls to battle evil magic crime syndicates with the help of their trusty squad of cheerleaders, among other things.

The excitement may be too much to handle. Do you dare step inside the… “different” world of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira?

5. Higurashi: When They Cry – GOU (2020)

Higurashi: When They Cry - GOU (2020)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni Gou
AiredFall 2020

New kid Keiichi Maebara is settling into his new home of peaceful Hinamizawa village.

Making quick friends with the girls from his school, he’s arrived in time for the big festival of the year. But something about this isolated town seems “off,” and his feelings of dread continue to grow.

With a gnawing fear that he’s right, what dark secrets could this small community be hiding?

6. Higurashi: When They Cry – SOTSU (2021)

Higurashi: When They Cry - SOTSU (2021)
TitleHigurashi no Naku Koro ni Sotsu
AiredSummer 2021

Sequel to Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Gou.

Leave a Reply