Berserk Watch Order

Berserk is one of the longest-running series, often going on hiatus just like it was with Hunter x Hunter.

As a seinen anime series, Berserk has many interesting themes with a balance between gory action scenes, immersive character development, and controversial animation.

Berserk is based on a manga written and illustrated by Kentaro Miura, a dark fantasy set in medieval Europe.

The series summarizes the story of Guts, the Black Swordsman who goes on a quest to hunt down a strange monster called the Apostle with his mighty greatsword, Dragonslayer.

berserk anime wallpaper guts casca griffith band of hawk

Guts struggles not only against the devil but against destiny itself. The story revolves around ideas about free will, betrayal, revenge and trust.

Berserk Anime Release Order

The development of animation is progressing, but for Berserk, it is precisely the old animation that has superior quality. One of the best 1990s anime of its time and still loved as a classic.

Apart from the animation and plot, there is a sense of nostalgia for old anime fans. So, I recommend to at least watch the original anime from 1997.

1. Berserk (1997)

Berserk (1997) anime poster
TitleKenpuu Denki Berserk
AiredFall 1997

A brave soldier named Guts fights for his luck as a mercenary on the front line. A fateful encounter unites Guts with a charismatic and deadly leader named Griffith.

Leading a mercenary army known as Taka no Dan or the Band of the Hawk, Griffith wields his immense power.

Driven by a quest for status, Taka no Dan exerts unprecedented military and social power. The Midland army will tremble with fear as Griffith and Guts embark on a path that will bring the world to its knees.

2. Berserk: Golden Age Arc I – The Egg of the King (2012)

Berserk: Golden Age Arc I – The Egg of the King (2012)
TitleBerserk: Ougon Jidai-hen I – Haou no Tamago
Episodes1 Movie
AiredWinter 2012
StudioStudio 4°C

The story is the same as the original 1990s anime series, lifting the beginning of the story from Berserk.

After Guts joins Taka no Dan and a relationship with Griffith begins to develop, Casca, a formidable swordsman, struggles to accept Guts and his influence on the world around him.

While the two men begin to fight together, Griffith continues to rise to power, all seemingly to achieve his mysterious goal.

3. Berserk: Golden Age Arc II – The Battle for Doldrey (2012)

Berserk: Golden Age Arc II – The Battle for Doldrey (2012)
TitleBerserk: Ougon Jidai-hen II – Doldrey Kouryaku
Episodes1 Movie
AiredSummer 2012
StudioStudio 4°C

Griffith and Band of Hawk continued to win battle after battle, making their prestige throughout the Midland kingdom grow.

Even so, their final task is the most difficult because everyone who tries it is bound to fail. The task was the conquest of the impregnable Doldrey fortress.

4. Berserk Ougon Golden Age III – The Advent (2013)

Berserk Ougon Jidaihen III: Kourin (2013) anime poster
TitleBerserk: Ougon Jidai-hen III – Kourin
Episodes1 Movie
AiredWinter 2013
StudioStudio 4°C

One year has passed since Guts left Taka no Dan and Griffith was imprisoned by the Midland Kingdom for treason.

In the middle of the night, at the camp where they were hiding, Taka no Dan was attacked by the assassins of Bakiraka led by Silat. When things seemed desperate, Guts returned from his trip.

Griffith is imprisoned in the oldest building in Wyndham Catle, the Tower of the Rebirth. Efforts to liberate are the path to the evil night for Taka no Dan.

5. Berserk (2016)

Berserk (2016) anime poster
TitleBerserk (2016)
AiredSummer 2016
StudioMillepensee, GEMBA

Driven by the fire that rages in his heart, Guts continues his seemingly endless quest for revenge. Guts must face off against a monster hiding behind a church mask.

Guts continues to fight his enemies, who use disgusting and inhuman powers. Guts only relied on his body and sword, his strength as a human.

6. Berserk 2 (2017)

Berserk 2 (2017) anime poster
TitleBerserk 2
AiredSpring 2017
StudioMillepensee, GEMBA

Demons have now become commonplace in the kingdom of Midland, which has fallen into chaos. Guts still can’t stay in one place for long because of his demonic mark.

He had always been able to protect himself, but now Guts had the added challenge of protecting Casca, who had lost her memory.

They never rest for a moment with the threat of setan, and they need a place where Casca will be safe until they find a way to heal her.

An elf named Puck appears, telling the story of the mystical land of Elfhelm, which might be a safe haven for them, as well as a hope for healing Casca.

7. Berserk: The Golden Age Arc – Memorial Edition (2022)

Berserk: The Golden Age Arc - Memorial Edition (2022)
TitleBerserk: Ougon Jidai-hen – MEMORIAL EDITION
AiredFall 2022
StudioStudio 4°C

Berserk’s latest series is the television version of the previous Golden Age arc trilogy, with hundreds of new scenes. In addition, new music composed by Susumu Hirasawa and Shiro Sagisu.

So for new viewers, you can start from this one.

Berserk Anime Chronological Order

The 2012 Berserk film trilogy follows the same story as the 1997 serialized version of the original Berserk, focusing on the Golden Arc. For the rest, the Berserk anime runs chronologically.

  • Berserk (1997) | Berserk: Golden Age Arc I – The Egg of the King (2012), Berserk: Golden Age Arc II – The Battle for Doldrey (2012), Berserk Ougon Jidaihen III: Kourin (2013)
  • Berserk (2016)
  • Berserk: Recollections of the Witch (2017)

Meanwhile, the story sequence based on the arc from the original manga is:

  1. Black Swordsman
  2. Golden Age
  3. Conviction
  4. Millennium Falcon
  5. Fantasia

Berserk series is still hanging because its creator Kentaro Miura died in May 2021.

Leave a Reply